Chapter 8: The Russian Lady

The chapter title for this section of Page After Page isn’t self explanatory as some of the other chapters, but the chapter itself discusses something that I am familiar with.

Heather Sellers starts this chapter talking about a time where she was part of a writers panel. A Russian lady asks the panel of writers if she should writer her story because her friends tell her that she should write about her history. One of the other authors told the woman that writing is hard and if she wants to write the story or would she be doing it just because her friends told her to.

I’ve told some friends my story ideas, once in a while I’ll get “Oh that’s nice” from people, but mostly I get “You should write it!”. Some are actually enthusiastic in encouraging me to write, but most are actually meaning to say “That’s interesting” and just want to be supportive.

I’m under no delusions, I’m not a good writer. I’m not terrible, but I don’t have the skills to write like some of my friends who are talented writers (like my friend Justin Robinson, seriously read his stuff). But I do have an interest in writing. Most of it will be stuff that will never see the light of day and treated like it’s Dr. Frankenstein’s monster.

Should I try to be a writer? Who can say? I want to write, I would love to be one of those web comic artists who write their own comic scripts, but I know I’ll fall pray to wanting to draw something because it looks cool rather than focusing on the story.
I use to love writing short stories, but now I can’t help but feel that my desire to be a writer is nothing but childish fantasy and my work would be looked at as a waste of book pages (paper and electronic).

With web comics, I tell people to create what they would want to read and would enjoy creating. Sure you might not make the big bucks, but you can tell when someone is having fun creating something like a book, comic, etc and that attracts dedicated fans who want to enjoy the experience with you. People who have fun on their creative projects tend produce content longer and they don’t seem so worn out when you meet them at conventions.

According to this book, I should write because I want to write. I don’t know if they know that I want to write silly or terrible stuff. Mostly focusing on terrible.


Exercises

I’m going to skip doing the exercises here since I’ve answered them up above. I’m also a little busy preparing for WonderCon this weekend. Feel free to stop by and say hi if you’re going to be at WonderCon. I’ll be at SP-74.

Leave a Reply

